Thing 16: Digital Tattoo & Citizenship

I chose to go back to this thing for two reasons, first because it’s been an ever-increasing issue in our school and we have been trying to incorporate ideas from bulletin boards to mini lessons as part of larger lessons and we need more ideas. Second, my colleague and I are enrolled in a course through Model Schools that will begin in a few weeks to become a certified educator through Common Sense media and I wanted to investigate more of Common Sense than what I already knew, especially after receiving an email with some sample lessons and creating an account.

First, I absolutely enjoyed both short videos for the purposes of educating students through the shock value and speed at which they get to the heart of the matter on having everything out there. The ‘mind reading’ was especially powerful because it does demonstrate how much can be gleaned from your presence online, while the other demonstrates the lengths at which the information can travel. I see this with my own mother in law. I post something and immediately it’s shared to another whole audience that I didn’t intend, but I kinda/sorta did when I put it there to begin with! Lesson learned. My favorite analogy with this I read last year– to have students squirt out toothpaste. Then ask them to put it back in the tube. Can’t? Huh. Kinda like putting stuff on the Internet. A tweet. A status update. A provocative photo. I like that both of these videos can be incorporated into lessons because they’re brief and focused and can remind even serve to remind adults.

In terms of some of the articles, my favorite was by far the Edutopia article about the P’s: passwords, privacy, personal info, photographs, property, permission, protection, professionalism, and personal brand. I am creating a wall in the library dedicated to this. I’m particularly interested in targeting property and permission in terms of copyright issues (everything from how to ask for it to where to find things in the public domain) and protection (phishing and viruses) because I don’t know that kids really know about this and/or how it works online. Personally and professionally I’m the most interested in the P of professionalism. I’m constantly honing my online presence to be able to allow access and put the best information forward. This is hard for me and I’m a grown up, so while I don’t think that it’s as easy to teach and discuss because it’s more theoretical for students, it’s worth dropping hints about. Their digital footprint starts immediately where many adults’ have grown as the Internet has grown.

I would agree with the other article that there’s no need to delineate between digital citizenship and citizenship as they should all mean the same thing in terms of creating a welcoming and inviting environment that builds people up instead of tearing them down– the true epitome of the THINK posters regarding how to be thoughtful/helpful/inspiring/nice/kind. It works online and in person and should be a part of character education from grade school through adulthood- adults need just as many reminders!

I’m exciting for the Common Sense media course, but if you’re not enrolled in the course, you can find some free materials here.

 

One thought on “Thing 16: Digital Tattoo & Citizenship

  1. That’s terrific that you guys are doing the Common Sense Media educator program! Glad you took this opportunity to dig into that content a bit more. Love the toothpaste tube idea!

Leave a Reply

