Thing 31: Evidence Based Practice

My brain hurts! But in such a good way and it is also challenging me through a weakness of mine, which is understanding numbers from their collection to their analysis, I’ve lived happily in a world of anecdotes for so long. And those will only get me so far. What is your practice saying about you, your program, and your effectiveness in that role– this is what I’m going to be working toward with these ‘things.’

I started with the SLJ article, then moved on to the Show Them article that reiterated the Evidence for, in, and of practice. I was particularly enhanced by the reminder that the process is circular, which I will need to continue to remind myself as I get deeper in to this. I think I’m quite reflective in my practice, but this seems so professional to be circular. An imagine of a spiral comes to mind, one that always moves skyward. I know who and how I can work to find research and elements of evidence for practice (between my awesome colleague and my enjoyment in reading articles from professional teaching and library journals). I’m confident in my ability to create lessons that will use the research. But my challenge will be providing the evidence of practice– I’ve actually learned so much from a recent intern in terms of finding ‘changes as a result of the action research.’

And I’ve saved the template, which is so easily understandable and seems so do-able. I love not having the reinvent the wheel! Can’t wait to use the template for Thing 32!

I know I will be working on identifying the library’s impact on improving reading scores for our ENL students. From the purchase of picture books for the HS, early readers, and leveled readers, and the integration of reading teachers with the ENL classrooms (where we work with both the reading teachers and ENL teachers in selection of materials specifically) and their multiple visits, we want to know that what and how we’re approaching the varied levels of their English skills is translating in to a movement of their reading scores and subsequently their passing local and state assessments.

Leave a Reply

