Time Out

I definitely go in spurts when it comes to posting lately, so here it goes.

My Most Excellent Year by Kluger, Devil’s Knot by Leveritt, Quaking by Erskine, and Black Pearls by Hawes.

I wasn’t too impressed with Black Pearls, however I can definitely see who’d I’d recommend the book to, those who love twisted fairy tales, fractured fairy tales, or anything like it. I do to an extent, I mean, I loved Book of a Thousand Days, but there’s just something about the little stories that didn’t intrigue me the way an entire story would unfold.  The other book I wasn’t too impressed with was Quaking, I don’t know what I expected, but it certainly wasn’t that. I can’t describe why I didn’t care for it, whether it was because I disliked Mattie, the main character, or because at times I didn’t quite know how all of the pieces fit together to weave a story and an idea.

However, I was a big fan of  Kluger’s novel. I was endeared to all of the characters, which at times did get a big overwhelming, but for some reason it reminds me of witty novels like a new favorite, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. There were a few layers to each characters experiences that created very real and very dynamic characters. The format was also fun, with instant messages, emails, essays, etc. the reader felt more like a voyeur than just an outsider. It was fun and easy. Then, there’s the nonfiction novel, which I don’t generally read, but I have already seen the documentaries about the West Memphis Three, so I thought it was worth flipping through. While much of the information was gathered before reading the book, it was still worth a look. Three eight year old boys are murdered in West Memphis, while three teenage boys are accused of the crime.

Leave a Reply

