Summer Season

What a slacker I am! But, summer is here, which means that I’ve got more time to read. Summer officially began for me a few weeks ago; I was turning out books left and right, which means I can’t remember most of them, but I will include the most recent ones.

I just finished Paul Volpni’s Black and White, and I must say, I’m extremely impressed with his stories. Each of the three books that I’ve read of his (Rooftop and Rucker Park Setup) all seem a little similar, but each brings race, violence, and the streets to life– dare I say– better than Walter Dean Myers. Now, I know Myers’ stories aren’t really hard-core, so if you want more realism, then Volponi’s your guy. In Black and White two friends, one black and one white, get into some trouble when they hold a few stick-ups to get quick cash for the end of their senior year in school.

Then there’s Nothing But the Truth (And a Few White Lies) by Headley, which I must admit I skimmed. I couldn’t get into it, but it seemed like something I should try to get through. So, I can’t say much more than it’s cheeky and funny and about self-discovery.

Another one that I skimmed was Generals Die in Bed by Harrison. It was originally published in the 30’s, which could explain some of my issues in connecting, but there’s enough treachery, war, and violence to keep some people’s interest. And, it’s about WWI, which isn’t as frequently written about. Overall I’d rank it pretty low on my list of a “good reads.”

The only other one I’ll mention right now is another GREAT one: Shattering Glass by Gail Giles. The ending especially left me exhausted from the adrenaline that was pumping from the final scenes of the story (cut off abruptly, but in a good way). I love stories like this– and of course others hate it! What a significant story about bullying, high school drama, girls, and secrets. It would go great with another book I recently read, Jake, Reinvented by Gordon Korman. Both have similarities about wanting to be popular and have it all by sacrificing yourself. Pick up BOTH of them!

Leave a Reply

