Overload

Alright, I’m going to get it out of my system. I know I’ve been terrible; I’ve been reading a lot, but not stopping to file them away for you all to see. Here’s a list (I’ll make a short comment for all):

Annie On My Mind by Nancy Gardner– Wonderfully romantic and sappy, but a first for it’s time (it was written in the early 80s) about two girls who find love with one another and discover the adversity that comes with being themselves. Definitely enjoyable.

Son of the Mob by Gordon Korman– I could have taken or left it. I’ve heard much about it, so I decided to give it a whirl. It’s a quick read and entertaining, just not my style.

Boot Camp by Todd Strasser– I like his stuff and I wasn’t disappointed. Though it might be mildly unrealistic, it’s still a thought-provoking read and worthwhile. Great guy book.

Quad by C.G. Watson– One of those books that can be read as a cautionary tale in the wake of so much school violence. It’s a whodunit after a school shooting erupts in… you got it… the quad at school. Interesting points of view to keep you guessing… whodunit!

Rucker Park Setup by Paul Volponi– Another great guy book like most of Walter Dean Myers’ basketball books, except it was short, sweet, with little character depth, but just enough action and backstabbing (no pun intended) to make it fulfilling.

Freaks: Alive, on the Inside by Annette Curtis Klause– I have a colleague to thank for recommending this book to me, and I’m glad I sat down and read it. It’s got all the elements of a great book including wonderfully lively characters, all with flaws, who then find themselves on a journey to find peace in their lives while being “normal” or “freaky.”

Beating Heart by A.M. Jenkins– Oh so sexy and oh so short! She’s always into writing for brevity, and I could have done with more from this one just because it’s a cool, intriguing plot line. Girl gets murdered, girl’s ghost then haunts large, busted-up home, boy moves into home, girl ghost takes boy as “lover.” That got your attention? Chills!

Sorry it was short, but it was succinct. Tune in next time!

Leave a Reply

