Some Old, Some New

I was happy that we got a few new books in the library and I was able to spend some time this weekend reading. The two I picked up were Life As We Knew It by Susan Pfeffer and Being by Kevin Brooks. This is the first Brooks book I’ve picked up and although I didn’t think the whole book was a hit, I will pick up some of his other books. The reason the whole book wasn’t great was that the main premise of the book wasn’t necessarily the main focus, instead things got lost in a romantic relationship that only got heated toward the beginning and at the end. Then the second, Pfeffer’s novel, was an interesting take on the “end-of-the-world” novels. Think: Meg Rosoff’s How I Live Now, except GOOD. The characters were well-developed and Miranda’s voice was genuine and thoughtful, along the lines of Anne Frank.

Leave a Reply

