Underrepresented

Going into it, I wasn’t quite sure what I would find. I didn’t care for Julie Anne Peters’ novel, Keeping You A Secret, so I was unsure I would like Luna. But, I give her credit for writing about topics that are underrepresented in YA lit: GLBT (for those that aren’t aware that’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered). I was pleasantly surprised to find a strong and raw take on transsexuality in the character of Liam Luna who depends his sister, Regan, to carry around his secrets until he’s ready to transform into who he truly is, a girl named Luna. It reminds me of My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr because of the sensitivity given to the topic of sexuality, which any teenager can relate to.

Leave a Reply

