Sequels Galore

This summer has definitely been the summer of sequels, take note of Trueman’s Cruise Control that I just posted, but now, on to the other sequels that I’ve conquered this summer. The good, the bad, and the ugly. There was the good, The Off Season by Catherine Gilbert Mudock, which I highly recommend, especially because of the pressure that D.J. faces in Dairy Queen is nothing compared to its sequel, which makes us root even more for loveable, tomboy D.J.

I also sat down and read through the graphic novels Persepolis and Persepolis 2 by Satrapi. These were something different from the norm with its black and white theme, yet it played nicely with Satrapi’s life growing up in a war-torn country, moving out of it, then moving back in. I would highly recommend these as reading for a history class or if you’re interested in foreign affairs and those from different cultures.

 Then there’s Shrimp, the sequel to Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn. I have to say I wasn’t as in to the sequel as I was with the first. It’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy the witty banter and crazy antics of the little hellion, but it just wasn’t the same energy I got from the quick snapshot in Gingerbread

There was The Prophet of Yonwood, the THIRD book in The City of Ember series. But ho, it’s actually the PREQUEL to The City of Ember then People of Sparks. I was also feeling a little uninspired by Yonwood for the simple fact that the real meat of the story was the last page of the book, what was all the stuff in the beginning and middle?? Someone answer that question for me!

2 thoughts on “Sequels Galore

  1. Luna-la says:

    i am not sure where i should put this comment but it has to be made. Where is Harry potter? It has to be the best made, and most ingenious series created.
    p.s i put it under sequels because of H.p and the Deathly Hallows just coming out.

  2. aabdul810 says:

    I’ll answer the comment about where Harry Potter is– not here! I guess I never caught the bug. I read the first book and good take or leave it. When I’m old and gray I might pick up the books, but it’ll only be to see what the curiosity was all about.

Leave a Reply

